A Glossary of Library Terms
This page is a glossary of library related terms that tend to be confusing or
can be used in unusual ways. Click on the letter that corresponds to the
word you are trying to find. If you can't find a word, ask for help at the
reference desk, send a message to
E-Reference, or call 879-3216. Suggestions are welcome. Send a message to
Lori Ricigliano.


Abstract: This term can be defined in two ways. (1) A short summary of an article in a scholarly journal. It usually appears at the beginning of the article. (2) An index to journal articles that not only provides a citation to the articles, but also gives a brief summary of each article.
Acquisitions: A function and department of the library to acquire
and purchase materials for the library collection.

Bibliography: This term can be defined in two ways. (1) References used while doing research for an article or book. These are gathered together at the end of the work, usually arranged alphebetically by author. (2) A publication that consists only of a list of books, articles and other works on a particular topic. Bibliographies of both types can be very valuable in locating information on a subject.
Book: (verb) to reserve a room or equipment
Boolean Operators: The basic method for combining
search terms in
a variety of ways. The three Boolean operators are AND, OR, NOT.
Bound Periodical: Several issues of a journal or magazine that are fastened together between hard covers so that they resemble a book.

Call Number: A combination of letters and numbers assigned to an
item to indicate its location on the shelves.
Circulating Collection: Materials that may be checked out
and taken outside the building. Non-circulating items may only be used in the
library.
Circulation Desk: The counter located near
the library's main entrance where you
check out books, return books, renew books, request searches for
books, etc.
Citation: Complete information about a
specific item. It may be a reference to a text that has been quoted, or
to some source that has been used as an authority. A citation for a book
includes, author, title, place of publication, publisher, and year.
A citation for an article in a periodical includes author, title of the
article, title of the periodical, volume number, pages and date.
A group of citations gathered together is usually called a
bibliography.
Collection: Materials owned by the library.
Includes books, periodicals, media, electronic products, and other formats.

Database: An electonic collection of
information, often of citations to materials on a
particular subject. SIMON is a database of books owned by the University
of Puget Sound Library. Datatimes is a database of articles in newspapers.
Descriptor: Vocabulary term assigned by the database producer to identify subject content of a document.
Document Delivery: An express service which enables the University community to
get copies of articles that the library does not own. Document delivery
usually takes from two to five working days.

ERIC Documents: Generally, unpublished education related literature distributed
by the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC). They typically
include descriptions and evaluations
of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides,
instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. ERIC
documents are identified by ED numbers in the ERIC database.

Field:
A segment of a database record for searching
and display. Some typical fields include the title, author, publication
date, and abstract.
Full-Text Database: Records in a database that include the complete
text of a publication. The Seattle Times is an example of a full-text
database.

Government Documents: Publications printed by or with the authority
of governmental agencies or departments. They may be books, pamphlets,
periodicals, posters, maps, or electronic products. Their topics vary widely.
Many have general appeal, such as consumer issues, education, statistics,
geology, health, and history. Others are technical research reports. Governments
also publish hearings, laws, and regulations. For more information,
see the library's
Government Documents Web Site.

Hold: To reserve an item that has been checked out
Holdings: This term may be defined in two ways.
(1) Materials in the library (2) The volumes or parts of a
serial in the library's collection

Interlibrary Loan (I.L.L.): A service that enables the University community to
obtain materials that are not available in the library. Books, copies of
articles, government documents, and other
materials may be borrowed from
other libraries through I.L.L.

Journal: A publication that contains scholarly articles written either by professors, researchers, or experts in a subject area. An abstract and a bibliography usually appear within an article.

Keyword: Signficant search term used to find
information in a database.
A keyword may be in the title, abstracts, notes, or
descriptor fields.

Library of Congress Subject Headings: Terms used by the Library of
Congress to divide knowledge into related subject areas, and by the library
to arrange books on the shelves. These terms are published in four large
red volumes, often called "LCSH" or sometimes just "the big red books."
Volumes are located near the reference desk.
Limit: Criteria for restricting database
search results. Limits are database specific. The most commonly
available limits are language, type of publication, and year.

Magazine: A
periodical intended for the general
public. Examples are National Geographic, Time,
Psychology Today, and Business Week.
Microforms: Books, articles or other items that are printed in
miniature form on rolls or sheets of transparent plastic.
Those that are in long rolls are called microfilm, while those that are on
small rectangular sheets are called microfiche. Each of these requires
a special machine to be used.
Monograph: Offers detailed coverage of a single topic in a narrative
sequence and is intended to be complete in itself. Most books in the library's
general collection are monographs. Though never as up-to-date as
periodicals,
books can provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject.

Periodical: A publication that appears
on a continuous and predictable schedule. Magazines
and journals are examples.
Primary Source: This term can be defined in two ways.
(1) A document or other sort of evidence written or created
during the time under study. Porimary sources offer an inside view of a
particular event. Some types include: autobiographies, speeches, official
records, and news film footage. (2) In science, an original report of
research that has not
been condensed or interpreted. Examples include technical reports, research
journal articles, and conference proceedings.

Reference Desk: A place where librarians
give directions, answer questions, and show how to find and
use materials. There is a reference desk on the main floor of the library. It is staffed most hours that the library is open.
Reserve: A collection of books set aside by professors for use by
students in particular classes. The reserves are kept at the
Circulation desk.

Search Terms: Words or expressions you use to define the topic you are searching.
Serial: Publications that are issued in successive parts,
usually at regular intervals. Example include periodicals, newspapers, annual reports, series, some conference proceedings, and annual reviews.
Secondary Source: Interprets and analyzes primary sources. Secondary
sources are one step removed from the event. Examples: textbooks, criticism,
commentaries, and encyclopedias.
Stacks: The shelves that hold the library's
collection. Main stacks
are in the basement, and on the second, third, and fourth floors.
Subject Heading: A word or group of words under which all material dealing
with a topic are included.
Superintendent of Documents Number (SuDocs): A call number used for the arrangement
of government documents, based on the government author.

Thesaurus: A list of descriptors used in a database. It may also include broader and narrower terms, relationships with other terms, and scope notes.

Please direct questions about this page to
Lori Ricigliano . Created 12/96, rev. 2.01.

Collins Memorial Library
@University of Puget Sound
URL: http://library.ups.edu/research/guides/libterms.htm