Collins Memorial Library

UPS Home |  Library Index  |  Library Feedback

 A Guide to Citing Internet Sources
No definitive guidelines exist for citing electronic sources. Many groups are discussing the issue and are producing guidelines for review. Citation formats suggested here are based on Beyond the MLA Handbook: Documenting Electronic Sources on the Internet by Andrew Harnack and Gene Kleppinger and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. A list of web sites containing citation guidelines appears at the end of this page.

 A Guide to Citing Internet Sources [1]

Table of Contents

bulletLinks to Web Sites
bulletAmerican Psychological Association (APA)
bulletModern Language Association (MLA)
bulletChicago Manual of Style
bulletGeneral
bulletExamples 
bulletE-mail
bulletFTP
bulletGopher
bulletMailing List
bulletUsenet News
bulletWeb Page
bulletE-Journal (with publication information for a printed source)
bulletE-Journal (with no printed source)
bulletNewspaper Article
bulletArticle in a Reference Work
bulletElectronic Texts
bulletFilms
bulletLegal
bulletMaps
bulletPhotographs
bulletRecorded Sound
bulletGeneral Rules of Thumb

E-MAIL

Format
Author. (author's e-mail address) "Subject Line." Date of post. Kind of communication (i.e. personal e-mail, distribution list, office communication). Recipient's name. (Date read).

Example
Andrec, Mike. (andrec@glyco.chem.yale.edu) "New England School of Bandura." 18 Apr. 1996. Personal e-mail to John WIlliams. (19 Apr. 1996)

 

WEB PAGE

Format
Author [if known]. "Title of document". Title of the site or complete work. Date of publication or revision [if known]. Publication medium (online). Name of computer network. [URL] (date accessed).

 

Example
Burka, Lauren P. "A Hypertext History of Multi-User Dimensions." MUD History. 1993. Online. Internet. Available: http://www.ccs.neu.edu/home/1pb/mud-history.html (5 Dec. 1994).

 

E-JOURNAL (with publication information for a printed source)

Format
Author. "Title of article." Title of journal. Volume number, issue number, or other identifying number. (Year or date of the publication). Name of database. Publication medium (e.g. online). Name of database publisher/producer. Internet address. Date of access in parentheses.

 

Example
Nicolas, Stephen. "Picture, Image, and Subjectivity in Medieval Culture." MLN: Modern Language Notes 108.4 (1993): 613-37. Project Muse. Online. Internet. Available: http://muse.mse/jhu/tocs/journal/mm/108.4nichols.html (11 October 1997)

 

E-JOURNAL (with no printed source)

Format
Author. "Title of article." Title of journal. Volume number, issue number, or other identifying number. Number of pages or paragraphs, or n.pag (no paginaition). Publication medium (e.g. cd-rom, online). Internet address. (Date of access).

 

Example
Fox, David L. "The Fiction of Reason." Architronic: The Electronic Journal of Architecture 2.3 (1993): 24 pars. Online. Internet. Available: http://www.saed.kent.edu/ARchitronic/v2n3/v2n3.04a.html (4 April 1997)

 

Newspaper Article

Format
Author [if given]. "Article title." Newspaper title Date of publication and edition. Name of database. Publication medium (e.g. online, cd-rom, etc.). Database publisher/producer. (Date accessed).

 

Example
Khalaf, Roula. "Arabs to urge US restraint." Financial Times 2 Feb. 1998, London ed.:05. Washington Newspapers. Online. UMI's Proquest Direct. Available: http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=395&SHtm=3&TS=886544125 (3 Feb. 1998)

 

ARTICLE IN A REFERENCE WORK

Format
Author [if given]. "Article title." Title of complete work. Database name. Date of publication. Number of pages or paragraphs, or n.pag (no pagination). Publication medium (e.g. online,cd-rom, diskette, tape). Database publisher/producer. Internet address. (Date of access).

 

Example
"Coptic Egypt." Britannica Online. n.d. 4 pars. Online. Encyclopedia Britannica. Internet. Available: http://www.eb.com:180/cgi-bin/g?DocF=macro/5004/82/39.html (2 February 1998)

 

ELECTRONIC TEXTS

Format
Name of author(s) [if given]. Title of text. Publication information for the printed source. Publication medium (e.g. online). Name of the repository of the electronic text (e.g. Center for Electronic Texts in the Humanitis, Oxford Text Archive, etc.). Internet address. (Date of access).

 

Example
Doyle, Arthur Conan. The Sign of Four. Baker Press, 1918. Online. Oxford Text Archive. Internet. Available: http://www.oxford.edu/txt7 (22 Feb. 1995).

 

FILMS

Format
Photographer's last name, first name, middle initial. "Title of film." Date. Title of collection. [Protocol and address] [digital ID] (date of visit).

 

Example
Armitage, Frederick S. "Bargain day, 14th Street, New York." 1905. The Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906. [http://lcwb2loc.gov/ammem/papr/nychome.html] [(m)lcmp001 m2a25469] (August 14, 1996).

 

LEGAL DOCUMENTS AND GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS

Format
Author's last name, first name. "Title of work." Title of complete work. [Protocol and address] [path] (date of visit).

 

Example
"A Memorial of the Officers." Now residing in the State of New York of the late American Army. [http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/] [law.html] (May 15, 1998).

 

MAPS

Format
Photographer's last name, first name, middle initial. "Title of work." Date. Title of collection. [Protocol and address] [digital ID] (date of visit).

 

Example
Ashmun, Jehudi. "Map of the West Coast of Africa from Sierra Leone to Cape Palmas, including the colony of Liberia." 1830. Immigration and Settlement. [http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhome/html/gmdhome/html] (July 15, 1998).

 

PHOTOGRAPHS

Format
Photographer's last name, first name, middle initial. "Title of photograph." Date. Title of Collection. [Protocol and address] [digital ID] (date of vist).

 

Example
O'Sullivan, Timothy H. "Incidents of war." 1865. Selected Civil War Photographs from the Library of Congress, 1861-1865. [http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/cwphome.html] [cwp4a40875 40875] (August 14, 1996).

 

RECORDED SOUND

Format
Last name of performer(s), first name, middle initial. "Title of work." Date. Title of Collection or Special Presentation. [Protocol and address] (date of visit).

 

Example
Scott, Ben and Wilkinson, Myrtle B. "Haste to the Wedding." October 31, 1939. California Gold: Northern California Folk Music From the Thirties. Available: [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/afccchtml/cowhome.html] (May 15, 1998)

 

FTP

Format
Author [if known]. "Title of Document" (Date of publication) [if available]. FTP address (date accessed).

 

Example
Lottor, Mark. "Internet Domain Survey" (18 Feb. 1996). FTP to ftp.nw.com/zone/report.doc (16 Jun. 1996)

 

GOPHER

Format
Author [if known]. "Title of Document." Any print publications information [if applicable]. Gopher address (date accessed).

Example
Westlund, Mark. "Boycott of Mitsubishi in Japan by Peaceful Protest in Osaka." Published in "RAN News" (the Rainforest Action Network newsletter) March 21, 1996. Gopher igc.apc.org/Organizations/Rainforest Action Network/Ran News/Mitsubishi Boycott (21 Jun. 1996).

 

USENET NEWS

Format
Author. [author's e-mail address] "Subject Line." Date of Publication. [newsgroup] (date accessed).

Example
Straczynski, J.M. jmsatb5@aol.com "Re: ATTN JMS: Is B5 Dead?" 19 Jun. 1996. rec.arts.sf.tv.babylon5.moderated (23 Jun. 1996)

 

MAILING LIST

Format
Author [if known]. [author's e-mail address] "Subject Line." Date of post. [mailing list address] (date accessed).

Example
Tracz, Orysia. tracz@cc.umanitoba.ca "Shevchenko in Love." 1 May 1996. ukes-social@soma.crl.mcmaster.ca (23 Jun. 1996).

 

GENERAL RULES OF THUMB

More is better. Provide as much information as possible so that the reader can find the source.

Draw an analogy to a print guideline or style manual.

Punctuation and capitalization, especially for addresses, should appear just as it is used.

If you can't find some of the information required, cite what is available.

 

LINKS TO WEB SITES FOR CITING INTERNET SOURCES

Modern Language Association Links

bulletColumbia Guide to Online Style 
bulletMLA web site

American Psychological Association Links

bullet

APA Style

Chicago Manual of Style Links

bullet

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide - Ohio State University Libraries

 

General Links

bulletCitation Styles for Electronic Media by John Lamp
bulletInternet Public Library - Citing Electronic Resources
bulletOnline! Citation Styles
bullet Yahoo! Internet Citation is a list of links to other sites.

Note: The library has a book called Bibliographic Formats for Citing Electronic Information in the reference collection, call number PN 171 D37 L5 REF.

 

[1] Based on an article by Michael A. Arnzen entitled "Cyber Citations," Internet World, September 1996, pp. 72-74.

Content Contact: Lori Ricigliano, rev. May 2003


http://library.ups.edu/library/research/CITEURLS.htm
Copyright © 1998, University of Puget Sound. All rights reserved.